Full Draw Time

dplumlee12

Dec 28, 2012
I'm new to archery and am trying to get myself ready to hunt 2013.  I practice at least 1x per week for about an hour.  I also hit the gym trying to get ready.  My question is:  Why can't I hold at full draw for very long?  How can I improve?  Is there a technique that I don't know about?  I've tried reading about this and still do not know what it is. 

I shoot a 2008 XForce at 70#'s  I don't find it hard to draw.  I'm not even sure if its the weight of the bow or the weight of the draw that minimizes my hold time. 

Any ideas?

I would suggest shooting more time per week.  This will help build endurance.  Because now you shoot once a week and there is 6 days of rest between that.  That is too much time off to see any type of improvement.

With seeing this thread after replying to your sight thread this could have a good bit to do with accuracy as well.  In your hour long shooting sessions I would think you shoot fine for the first 15 minutes.  Then your accuracy starts to diminish from there.  Since you are fatigued and struggling to hold steady.

So instead of shooting 1x per week for 60 minutes try shooting 3x per week for 20 minutes.  Focus on form/shot execution and then you can go from there.

Good reply Irked and I agree 100%.  I find if I shoot too long, my accuracy falls off but I usually try to keep shooting a dozen or so more after I start to get shaky to try to build up more endurance.  Kind of the same principals with lifting weights in that you make the most progress after you are fatigued and really push it when you really want to quit!
Another thing you can do, since it sounds like you can't shoot in your yard, is to get a block target and shoot in your basement at close range.  That helps you to focus on form and stamina while not worrying about accuracy!