How to relieve joint pain?

mrjigger

Jan 9, 2013
I have been working my butt off for the last 6 months. I have been running the entire time but in the last few weeks my knees have been killing me. I can hardly run 3 miles now and I feel it for a couple days. I am only 31 and have never really been out of shape. I may not be as fit as I was in college but I am getting dang close to it. The last thing I want is to be curled up in a tent not able to hunt because my knees can't take it.

Besides taking a  Glucosamine and Chondroitin supplement is there anything else I should do? Is there a Glucosamine and Chondroitin supplement better than another?

I'd try and rest your knees for a while. Running in particular is brutal on the joints, especially the knees. Vary it up too. Lots of great exercises out there that keep your endurance up and legs strong, without the abuse. Also, don't underestimate the benefits of stretching.

Ibuprophen every day.  Not only is it an anti-inflamatory, it also helps joints heal.  I've been to the point that I could hardly walk due to joint pain in the knees, it had been that way for weeks.  I started taking ibuprophen and pain was gone in a few days. 
I refer to it as Vitamin I  :)

I used to take ibuprofen daily but I don't anymore because it's hard on several internal organs. I take itwhen I need it for inflammation but then you aren't addressing the cause of a chronic problem, you are only dealing with the symptoms. I run 3 days a week but if I am getting sore I will cut that down to one day a week or once every two weeks. You will notice a loss in cardio if you don't keep it up but that's easier to get back than to recover from a knee injury.

My old roommate needed glucosamine chondroitin for his dog and he asked that same question and his vet said they are all the same. I don't know if you want to take health advice that was meant for dogs but that's my .02