well I'm done

tkruk

Dec 28, 2012
I've been exercising for the last two years getting ready for elk season. Last year had all the rain for two weeks and now this year is over for me. I completely tore my achilles tendon and have to have surgury on june 30th. This means my elk season is over. But I will continue to do upper body stuff and shooting my bow. Have any of you experienced this? I'm hoping I can hobble to a ground blind to do some deer hunting this year. Those of you exercising becareful and don't play basketball when your 57 years old and are training for an elk hunt

When I was in my early 40's I had a hernia operation 2 weeks before the bow hunt. I got out but it was slow and easy hiking. I didnt get an animal but I still had fun being at elk camp with the boys. I was able to bugle with in 100 yards or so a couple elk. I would go but take it easy and slow and enjoy camp.

I agree after 50 you have to watch the sports you do  :)

one year broken arm ,no bow hunting but took both deer and elk with arm in cast , another year torn cartlidge in knee , no stoping me a few painful steps but still took both deer and elk, 3 years ago torn rotator  cuff in shoulder ,couldnt pick my arm up over my head but could still pull a bow, took both deer and elk that year also, If im in a wheel chair odds a still good im going hunting

Man I feel bad for ya, keep at the upper body, you could probably even try to do some rowing to keep up on your cardio. I hope you can find a place you will be able to hobble into and kill a few animals. Good luck on your recovery.

My achilles it torn in two. Surgery is next monday. 6 weeks in cast and crutches with no pressure on it at all. then 6 weeks in walking boot and crutches with some weight on it. then 6 months of rehab. Hopefully I'll be able to run and jump again after all is said and done. The problem I'm going to have is not overdoing it and reinjuring it. I've been known to overdo things according to all my friends and family.