Cyclist killed by cougar

DTP

Administrator
Jun 13, 2017
http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/us/cyclists-tried-to-scare-cougar-but-it-attacked-killing-1/ar-AAxz2Kw?ocid=ientp

I'm not trying to take away from the light of this situation and I am not a cat expert, but I'd be surprised on how they "diagnose" this cat.

"They did everything they were supposed to do," King County sheriff's Sgt. Ryan Abbott said. "But something was wrong with this cougar."

"Myers said Sunday that the cougar was underweight ? about 100 pounds (45 kilograms), when a typical 3-year-old male in the area would be 140 to 180 pounds (63 to 81 kilograms)."

To me it sounds like a hungry cat that was not going to stop just because it was hit with a bike. I'm betting cats get wacked by deer horns or elk horns all the time, but keep going...

:dk:

Unfortunately it takes a loss of a human life or 2 to realize when predators numbers get to high that predator/human incidences increase.  Maybe this is what Washington needs to get hound hunting back.  most effective means of lion control.  just a matter of time before it happens again, based on the lion sign I saw on a weekend hiking trip with my brother who lives there. 

montanaelk31 said:
Unfortunately it takes a loss of a human life or 2 to realize when predators numbers get to high that predator/human incidences increase.  Maybe this is what Washington needs to get hound hunting back.  most effective means of lion control.  just a matter of time before it happens again, based on the lion sign I saw on a weekend hiking trip with my brother who lives there.

This is kind of what I was thinking....
The article was worded as if the cat was this rare anomaly that wont happen again.

I'm honestly surprised they don't have hound hunting out there.

there is a pic of the dead cat somewhere.  it didnt look all emaciated to me.

but i am not a cat expert.  my house cat is a fat turd.
RIP to the cyclist.  and i hope the survivor can get this behind him.