DEBATE THIS 2....!!!

cnelk

Mar 23, 2017
Standing side by side there are two very accomplished hunters [archery for sake of discussion - but other methods may apply too]

On the left is \'Billy Bob\' - A well known WT bowhunter. He shoots a very nice WT buck each and every year. Stuff you say wow!

On the right is \'Tommy Joe\' - A well known archery elk hunter that shoots nice bulls each and every year. Bulls that are very impressive

Which one would you say is the better \'hunter\'?

Why?

My guess is that they are equal, but I might be more interested in learning from the WT hunter, as I have no experience with those critters.

My immediate thoughts: I see a heck of a lot more big deer taken every year than I do big elk. I see way more television shows taking big bucks than big bulls. BUT, it is a totally different game. Whitetail, to me, seems like a lot more of a private land type hunt. People have their ranches or chunks of property and they can manage it however they want, put feeders out, etc. There are also more whitetail across the country than there are elk.

For the sake of the argument though, I will assume public land for both. With a bow, I would say both are probably equally as difficult, but I would still lean towards the elk hunter as the better hunter. With a rifle, no question in my mind, it would be more difficult to take a big bull every year than a big whitetail.

Tommy Joe... ;) ;)

Reason: Elk are tougher to hunt and kill than whitetail... At least for me... :D :D

Plus I like the name Tommy Joe more than Billy Bob... ;) ;)

Sorry to all the Billy Bob\'s out there... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

WT???? Oh, you must mean antlered field mice ! Climb tree, deer walks by, shoot deer. Elk my not be harder but the learning curve is much longer. And elk can be a whole lot harder once you get one down.

i think the giant elk is tougher.