difference

bnsafe

Mar 2, 2014
whats the main difference in hunting wt an mulies. you can pattern wt, but can you with mulies, will they stay in the same general area

I have no experience with WT.

I hunted mulies for the first time this past September. The 3 mule deer I was watching came back to the same spots each day at the same time of day on multiple days. I was a bit surprised, however, I had observed this before in the same area during an early August backpacking scouting trip.

So for my one location, yes, they stayed in the same area and came back to the exact same spots each day. They were a heck of a lot easier to find than elk.

We have both out here in eastern Colo. I focus more on mulies & in my opinion, they are very similar in their patterns. Bed in the same general area, water from the same tank & feed in the same area as long as the feed is there & they don\'t get disturbed to bad. When the rut kicks in, all bets are off tho. Overnight I have seen a rut crazed buck move over 5 miles in search of you know what :crazy: I\'ve put several in the freezer that did the same thing one time to many.

I\'ve never hunted mulies so I can not actually tell you the difference but I will say that in my many years of experience one does not pattern a truly old and big whitetail. He\'s a different breed altogether! You can do everything perfectly and it is still an educated guess together with good fortune to get a shot at one! I have seen them do unbelievable things.

I\'ve yet to do my first elk hunt but Mullie is on my to do list as well. Is it usually worth wild to buy a Mullie tag while elk hunting when able?

The way my world rotates if I got a Mullie tag, I\'ll be overrun with elk, if I\'m holding an elk tag the Millie\'s will be everywhere. That\'s how my fishing license work too, lol

\"Bob Frapples\" said:
I\'ve yet to do my first elk hunt but Mullie is on my to do list as well. Is it usually worth wild to buy a Mullie tag while elk hunting when able?