Draw Weight

Wapiti Warrior

Jul 20, 2017
Hey everyone! New archery and hunter here. About a month ago I increased my draw weight from 65 to 70. Its not difficult to draw but I noticed my shots are is well grouped as they were at 65. Should I just have the shop drop my weight on my bow or do I need to stay at 70 for elk hunting? My 20-50yd groupings are staying within 4 inches but once I get to 80 yds they are closer to 8-9 inches. Is that small increase of weight throwing off my mechanics and causing decreased consistency? Thanks for the help

65# draw weight will definitely kill an elk. 70# might just be causing your arms to be slightly more fatigued and causing you to shoot a bit less consistently. Increasing the draw weight would also make your bow shoot differently. If you have arrows that worked well at 65#, they may not fly the same at 70#. Might need to get arrows with a proper spine for the change in draw weight. I'm no expert, but that's my 2 cents.

X2 with what Bull_Fighter said.
When I first cranked my bow up to 70lbs it was doing two things.
1) Causing me to fatigue quicker
2) Causing me to shoot quicker

Your mind is trying to pick that spot to focus on while your arm is sending up a signal saying "hurry up and release this thing"! So instead of giving your best effort at aiming small and missing small, you're possibly being clouded by other direct or sub-counsious thoughts.

Once I caught on to that I went back with the logic that if it's not broken then don't try to fix it.

I've killed three elk with my bow set at 59lbs (ranging from 440-493gr)
They had no issue with a pass through.

I hope you get it all sorted out!