Early Season Tactics

ryancolter96

Feb 28, 2017
Hey y'all,

I'm new to the elk scene. I've been scrolling through the elk101 forums and found tons of info, and it's been great. But, I'm looking for some early season tips. My first elk hunt will be in late august this year and I understand that the bulls act completely different in the early season. From some podcasts I've listened to and from some people I've talked with through elk101, I've learned that they like to be in the high country and will be bulking up that time of year getting ready for the rut. I'm just wondering if anyonehas anymore advice they'd be willing to give a new elk hunter!

Thanks.

You should really sign up for Elk University, it will cut down on the learning curve. Worth every dollar.

Agree completely with jstephenson61 here,  basically your entire question is covered and then some in the course. Worth every penny...

When I read about the course I really wish I could take it! At some point I'm sure I will, but right now I'm on a tight budget to even be able to go on the hunt because I'm a college student. So, I'm just trying to collect info as cheaply as possible (as a college student would do).

Take this with a grain of salt as I'm sure there are other people on this forum that know much much better than I do. (full disclosure, been hunting elk 5 years now public land with a lot of pressure and have not gotten an elk but have had my chances)

Early season bulls can typically still be grouped together, I've hunted an area for awhile now where I get decent bulls on trail cameras all through July/Aug and then whether it be pressure or just that time of year, come the season they all move out. It is really going to depend on the unit you are hunting in, how much pressure, terrain, weather etc.