Finding elk on a map???

KYElk258

Jan 22, 2018
I am new to elk hunting and am planning a elk hunt for this coming fall.  Still haven't decided on a Unit yet but we are getting closer.  My question is, once we have the Unit picked out, what are some tips to finding where elk will be in that Unit, by looking at maps?  I know scouting is the best way in finding elk, but living 18-20 hours away, this is not possible.  Any advice or tips would be great!

North/NE facing slopes about 2/3 up is a good place to start looking.
Look for a mix of aspen & pine.
But you could find them just about anywhere too

x2 on what Brad said.
To add I also really like hunting around and on burned areas.

What are some good sites to look at digital maps.  The best I have found so far is the Colorado's DOW Atlas.  It has over lay.  Is there any other maps that you use?

Both version of Google Earth are good.

The web based version is MUCH clearer than the GE Pro

earth.google.com

But it lacks some of the functionality that GE Pro has.

Yep, I'm a google maps/google earth kind of guy too.
Most of my lunch breaks are me messing around on google earth looking for new places to explore. :upthumb:

I wouldn?t worry too much about not being there to scout as things change when the season rolls around. I can find them in July easy but only had 2 encounters during last season which was my first.

Use a lot of google earth/on X and CO atlas to find places you want to go see during season. If there isn?t any sign when you make it to those landmarks/areas then go to plan B. Have a lot of plans.

Also look for hard to get to areas. One of my encounters was less than 2 miles from a road but gained 1500ft in elevation in that time.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk