First Elk Hunt - Unit Advice!

skinne88

Jul 13, 2018
Hi All -

I am in the process of planning my first elk hunt. I only have 5 full days, and am looking at backpacking in. I have been e-scouting Colorado Units 14 and 15. I have the maps all marked up and now have analysis paralysis. Wanting to get deep enough to get away from the crowds...but also want to be mobile enough to switch it up and move if I am coming up dry or run into other hunters in my focus area. Hunting archery season, later September. Any advice on 14 or 15??

Thank you!

SK

No advice on unit. But second the notion to stay mobile. Move until you find them. Everyone wants to go deep and you might find some closer to a road than you think. I?d look steep and nasty before deep. Novice here so take it for what it?s worth.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sarvis creek wilderness in unit 15 is 1 of the few places you can truly get away from roads.  If you get too close to the colorado river in 15 it gets hotter and drier.  Also get to close to rabbit ears pass and the crowds grow again.  Hope this helps alittle

The one thing to keep in mind in Colorado is that you'll most likely run into other hunters. I was out there last year for the first time and compared to Montana it was completely different in terms of hunting pressure. One thing that will always stick with me from that hunt is this, "nobody goes up that drainage, way too difficult".

We had glassed 4 legal bulls in a very steep drainage our first night. Went after them the next morning and actually were able to locate 6 all legal bulls with a few over 300 inches. Passed a few other hunters that hunt that area every year and we told them the drainage we were hunting and they told us "nobody goes up that drainage, way too difficult".