Hiking Boots vs Hunting Boots

Outdoorfaucette

Aug 10, 2018
I am pretty new to hunting and have only gone out when someone else had a tag. This year I got my first tag. Prior I was using just some crappy boots that I was given. This year we will probably be backing around for the 4 days. I am looking to get new boots for this years trip.  I am curious what people recommend for their feet.  Is there a difference between hiking and hunting boots? Any other things I should look for in a good boot?

It would help us with some suggestions if you told us what price range you?re looking at, as there are a million options and price seems to be the biggest selection factor for most.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What kind of terrain will you hunting in? The best recommendation I can give for that price range is to go and try on some and get the best support and comfort you can find. Being that you will be essentially living in these for 4 days or more I may reevaluate what you?re spending on other gear and try to up that budget some as your boots are the most crucial part of gear besides your pack. Just my .02

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The biggest thing to do is go try on as many as you can. You might find that a less expensive boot fits you better than a more expensive one, but the only way to know is to try them on. Depending on what season you are going, you may want to get something with thinsulate as well (mid Oct or later hunt).