Right handed left eye dominant

Jen4Hunter

Feb 6, 2013
So im very new to archery and i found out im left eye dominant but right handed.  im trying a left handed bow, is this the right thing to do?  Feels awkward.

my son is left hand and right eye,he has to shoot right handed or he cant hit any thing.My brother is left handed right eye and shoots left handed but looks through right eye when shooting.Dont know how but it works.So I guess its what ever works best for you.You will just have to try it out.I know I could never shoot left handed so I would have to find a way to do it right handed.

You should be able to completely address this by closing your left eye when shooting and shooting one-eyed with your right eye.  Your issue of eye dominance will only come up if you shoot with both eyes open and then your dominant left eye will subconsciously take over the aiming and cause you to be consistently off.  I learned this from years of struggling with shotgun shooting.  I shoot with one eye closed and lose some peripheral vision in order to prevent cross dominance issues with aiming.

Good luck and you can research this for yourself.  Check out shotgun resources and eye dominance.

I definitely think you should shoot with your dominant eye. It will make you more accurate. My wife is also right handed and left eye dominant, as is the owner of the archery shop I go to. Both of them have tried both and are way more accurate with a left handed bow.

My buddy just switched after 20+ years of shooting rt handed, do it now and it will save you grief down the road.

I'm left handed and right eye dominant. When I first got into archery a few years ago a archery shop owner said he wouldn't sell me a bow that didn't correspond to my eye dominance. At first I thought he was crazy but after a day of shooting each way it became obvious to go with my eye dominance. Its not too hard once you get the hang of it.