Sizing up bulls

Bigggcountry

Jul 26, 2013
Since moving to idaho I have been  meat hunter. I have only hunted cows. This year I drew the unit 31 bull tag. This is a very limited tag and is known to have some large bulls in it. Last year out of the 50 tags given out 36 of them harvested 6 pts or better. What do I look for in field scoring?  I plan on doing a lot of scouting. I've already spent a few hours infront of my computer looking over the area on google earth.

Field judging bulls especially in velvet can be a little rough even for experianced guys. The first thing I look at is the 3rds.. Then mass, length of all points, main beam. I'm no expert, but look up jay Scott's articles on scoring live bulls. He and Darr colburn are the best in my opinion. Best of luck!! Show pics

Don't get to caught up in score, everyone wants to shoot a 360 or whatever. If it looks good to you and you will be happy, shoot it and have a good time on the hunt, congrats on drawing the tag!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RUTTIN said:
Don't get to caught up in score, everyone wants to shoot a 360 or whatever. If it looks good to you and you will be happy, shoot it and have a good time on the hunt, congrats on drawing the tag!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
X2. The trophy is in the eye of the beholder! Sometimes it's the story that's the trophy....
Having said that. I judge 6 pt bulls by first giving them 200 inches if they r a mature 6. Then add up the length of the tines on 1 side X 2 and adding it to 200. My reference is knowing the distance from the nostril to the eye is 12. You can field judge in seconds using this. Check your accuracy by youtubing "field judging elk". You'll be surprised how accurate this technique is. Congrats on the tag, don't eat it!