Wolves and Elk

MT_mulies

Dec 28, 2012
I have a question for everyone that will get some blood boiling probably. What has been your general view of wolves, has it ever been persuaded one way of the other, are they really that bad, do they have any benefits? I know what most elk hunters such as myself think. I was just curious to see what people think. Cause were I hunt I haven't seen any drastic change in elk numbers and I live in SW Montana within 1 1/2 of the park. I majored in ecology and just graduated this year. So I had lots of presentations and projects due on wolves. I heard from Yellowstone Park Rangers, FWP, a guy who was a main instrument in the wolf reintroduction (he likes to hunt elk and deer on the Montana Idaho border), Professors, tree huggers, and anti-wolf groups in the last 4 years.

There is an area in Idaho where I used to hunt that Elk wouldn't make a sound. No cow call or bugle.  And they started going into the thickest stuff where a 15 yard shot would be a long shot. Plenty a times we had elk 5-10 yards away and we couldn't see them. We had hunted that area for a lot of years and never found it to be that way until the last two times we went up there. Wolfs were pretty think in that area and we would see tracks daily. Also had a few sleepless nights as we could hear them messing with the horses. I believe elk learned not to make a sound as it would sound like a dinner bell to the wolfs.
It's pretty bad, that used to be a GREAT area.

Everyone I know who hunts in an area with wolves has experienced a huge decline in game animals. they came up with the same management plan here in WA for number of breeding pairs as Idaho...  ???  don't know how they think WA has the same number of game animals as Idaho to support that number. I don't think they have any idea what they are doing with that.