2019 Archery Elk Hunt

Brady1

Dec 13, 2018
Hey guys i'm new Elk 101 and elk hunting in general!  Next year I am planning a archery elk hunt in Idaho and don't really know where to start as to picking a unit to hunt! As a beginner i'm not real thrilled of the idea of hunting in grizzly country and from what I've researched so far that means that basically the north and the east side of the state is out of the question. I have also heard that basically anywhere you go on public lands your going to run into other hunters.  So with that being said i want to pick a unit where if we get bumped out of one spot by other hunters then i have plenty of other options to go that aren't to far away. Don't know if we are going to set up a base camp to come back to or hunt with camp on our backs. Kind of thought that would be a decision to make depending on the water sources in the area.  I'm not looking for anybody's honey holes or anything like that but just some advice to get me in the right direction.  Also we aren't picky as to what size of bull but would just like to get into some bugling action and have some fun chasing some elk! Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

No real advice on units but Idaho has no preference points so if you are buying a license anyway you might as well put in for a draw unit. It wont cost much if you already have the license and you will have as good of odds as anybody as drawing a pretty good hunt. If you don't draw then I would look for an over the counter unit.

Brady,

Welcome to elk hunting!

Yes it is safe to assume that you will run into hunters wherever you go on public land, but don't let that break your spirits. There are places you can go where the elk are hanging out and have not been pressured (yet). These places could be right at a trailhead or may be miles in... unfortunately no real easy way to tell except to be up there and find out, but some scouting and map study will be a great way to start.