Any other Hammock Hunters here?

NJDiverDan

Aug 26, 2015
This is my first year using a hammock as my sleep system to chase elk.  In the past I have always packed in a base camp and hunted from there.  This year I am camping where ever I end up at the end of the day. 

I'm trying the same thing this year. We will have a base camp but every other night gonna stay with them. Good luck

I am interested in the idea. What type of hammock and sleeping bags are you guys using? Do you need to put some kind of insulation under you or is your bag enough?

im curious how its work throughout the night as well?? i have a really light tree hugger hammock and have thought about this but with a 3 person golite UL3 im still thinking its better to be outa the bugs at night.

I'm gona be using a eno hammock and a tarp for a rain cover. All together less than 5 lbs. Going to use a mat under my sleeping bag to help insulate under me. We'll see how it goes in about 2 weeks

jvanhoy said:
I'm gona be using a eno hammock and a tarp for a rain cover. All together less than 5 lbs. Going to use a mat under my sleeping bag to help insulate under me. We'll see how it goes in about 2 weeks

That seems pretty heavy for just a tarp and a hammock, or is that including your sleeping bag as well?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That's hammock tarp and stakes. The tarp weighs themost. If i like it I'm gona spend the extra money for a lightweight rain fly. Since this is my first year trying it didn't want to spend the extra money. Just went back and found a post from when i weighed it. 3.2 lbs. Ifi get the rain fly it will cut it down a lb or so.

I am using a yoga mat under me, you can additionally put a foil reflective liner on it as well( like they use in A/C work) much less than down quilts and has worked for me in 30 degree Mississippi weather

Oh and I use a Hennessy hammock with a snakeskin and carabiner rappel ring set up