Archery: Downhill leg on steep slopes

mtnmutt

Mar 2, 2014
Today, I shot at a walking range with very steep slopes. Most of the ground was dirt with pea gravel. Slopes were 15-25 degrees. Fortunately, my hunting area does not have pea gravel on the ground.

I had a lot of trouble keeping my downhill foot in place when I drew my bow back. I don\'t struggle to draw my bow. Gravity appeared to be against me and the pea gravel was like ball bearings.

I have one hunting spot which may require shooting on a 25 degree slope, therefore, I need to figure this out.

When I was kneeling using my knee caps, it wasn\'t nearly as bad. Lowering my center of gravity helped.

Does anyone know where I should keep my weight or how to dig in so the downhill foot doesn\'t slip? Do I give up on a standing position and use a different position?

You know, I have no experience with this, so I will have to go try it a few times to give you an answer.

Can you put the majority of the weight on your rear leg while drawing and then stabilize once drawn?
Imagine a baseball batter who is swinging. Some people will lift their heal on their forefoot, then it comes back down with the swing.

Maybe try to have your uphill leg in a kneeling position. Then use your downhill leg as a support- extended, but slightly (or more than slightly) bent. See if you can use your downhill foot to dig into the pea gravel and make a backstop - like a pitchers mound. This may give you a bit more stability with at least three contact points (knee and two feet).

Thank you.

I will see if I can try these ideas out this week.

I tried an internet search and found nothing.

\"Baby Huey\" said: