Chuckling with a diaphragm call

Oregonbowhiker

Jan 3, 2013
Newbie here. I got my cow calls down pat last year with a decent bugle. This year I want to have the chuckling down. Any tips or instructional videos you would suggest?
THanks

I am still working on the chuckle and grunts but the mastering the mouth reed from elknuts.com may be helpful.

Elknut and Roes Hunting Resources. Tons of info from those guys.
Check out all Joel Turners youtube stuff. He is a great caller also.

I tell my kids when learning how to grunt and chuckle- make a "cha" sound with your reed. Then when you become proficiant in making the "cha", repeat it with a breath in between each "cha". There is a certain cadence that goes with it, which can be mastered with enough practice.  :D

For FREE calling tutorials you can hit Bugling Bull game calls Youtube channel and check it out........ See below link.

http://www.youtube.com/user/BuglingBullGameCalls

I hear another one that can teach is corey jacobson if you can catch him at a siminar,Im trying to get him to Oregon!!

I would agree that it is by far the hardest part of calling to master.  Just keep practicing and it will come.  I actually have a better chuckle than my bugle sometimes, but still manage to get elk in all the time with both.

This past year was my first year using the diaphragm calls.  I still cant chuckle but I called in bulls withoutit.

Just to add another idea here, I understand there are two different styles of chuckles. One as an agressive response to other bulls and one as an attraction to cows. I may be mixing that up, but listen for the cadance and coarseness of the two.
Maybe someone can link a short segment of the two different sounds or at least explain it better than me... ???

nclonghunter said: