do yall use "scents" for either lure (cow pee) or cover ?

Billy Goat

Sep 5, 2017
I\'m specifically looking for answers from that 5% club that kills on a yearly basis.

you know who you are. I am not in the club, but would like to join someday.....

Shane,
I have had some bad experiences using them in the past (granted it was poor wind conditions), so I typically do not use them.

However, I picked up some of this at the NABA Show: http://www.cabelas.com/product/Mocc...=GoogleProductAds&WT.z_mc_id1=40022624&rid=20

Except, it is in a gel form. The owner raises elk, and collects the urine himself, right from the tap so to speak. It just smells like the \"real deal\".

I\'m planning on putting it on my boots walking into a couple treestands, and putting it around the foliage on my decoy for cold calling and challenge setups. Ideally, I want to get away from the decoy when elk approach...that way they can concentrate on the sight/ scent and hopefully will not concentrate on me.

So, I\'m planning on using it as a \"distractant\" instead of an \"attractant\" ;)

In the past I had used HS Scents Cow Elk Urine wafers.
I am not sure sure if they got me into the 5% club easier or not but I do know they stink to high heaven.
I don\'t use them anymore. And I still flirt with the 5% club...
I now use sage in my bin of clothes and check the wind constantly.

But If a cover scent gives you some more confidence or even gives you 3-4 seconds longer when it\'s \'go time\', give it a try.

\"cnelk\" said:
But If a cover scent gives you some more confidence or even gives you 3-4 seconds longer when it\'s \'go time\', give it a try.
From my newb perspective...

Camo, not a necessity and yes, people killed elk in jeans and a plaid shirt for years...but I believe it will help me get closer.

Scent sprays, whether an attractant or a masking spray, I believe could get me closer or as Brad said, give me a few extra seconds when it\'s Go Time.