FIELD JUDGING

I can too, but the highest I've counted was a 6x7 so I got to only 13 points ....... ;)

If you can get to within 5-10 points of what it usually scores, why would you need tips on scoring from anyone? I think you are pulling our leg.........(joke).  :)

lol yeah 6th grade was the hardest 3 years of my life!

I'm close on deer I should say but elk i'm not near as accurate.

I'm not very good at elk either. With mule deer I do really well. On the old elk101 site there was a contest for guessing elk scores. You can look at those and try to guess a little bit. You can probably google some kind of a scoring game I would guess. That is about the best way I think. Or everytime you go into a sporting good store try to guess the size of the elk and then ask the owner what it was. They will probably know.

I try to do as much field judging as I can.  I also like to go over to my brother-in-law's taxidermy shop and measure up some of the antlers to see how close I can come.  We have had some good bets on scoring.  Over the last few years I have gotten better, just because I have seen more bone up close.

Garrett Weaver said:
Usually I can get within about 5-10 points of what it will score. Any tips on field judging.

Bring your tape? ???  I would be lucky to be with 30-50 points of the actual score.

I was told by a very expirenced elk hunter about field judging bulls on the hoof. He told me that if I think I'm looking at a 350" bull, to start with a base score of 200. That 200 comes from an average spread of 40", 30" of mass per side, and 50" main beams per side. 40+60+100=200. Then all you have to do is add up the tine length. I have used this before and have been fairly close, however practice makes perfect. Hope this helps.  :)