HOW to elk hunt?

Mad_Angler

Aug 26, 2015
So, I\'m an absolute beginner. I\'ve never even seen an elk.

How do you elk hunt? I mean specifically.

I have a StartMyHunt map coming. Now what?

Do I approach from downwind calling like a cow? Bugling like a bull?
Do I find a good spot and just glass?

I know how to hunt deer: Find obvious funnels or travel paths, setup a treestand and wait.
I know how to hunt turkey: Set up in a good spot and wait. Or walk along, calling every once in a while. Setup when one answers.
I know how to moose hunt: Find a good spot. Call a bit, shoot them if they come in. Or glass the hillsides. When you see one, go kill him.

Will any of those technigues work for elk?

There are several main ways to hunt elk in the archery, and in the rifle/muzzle loader seasons. There are proponents for each of these styles, but it can depend on many factors including the habitat, terrain, time of the season, even time of day, Mostly it is a matter of personal preference. I think using a combination of a couple of different methods is a good way to start.
Spot and stalk hunting is productive in some areas. I have a friend that uses that method almost exclusively. There are the go slow, still hunters. Many people want to call using bugles and/or cow sounds. Some people want to tree stand or blind hunt. I believe getting the right area, and learning to call effectively, for your area is the most difficult. As stated on another thread, we have some good information here that will put you years ahead of where I started. The best part about this forum is, you get various opinions fully discussed. What you need to recognize is that what works for one person, where they hunt, may not work everywhere.