Hunting in the Rain

mtnmutt

Mar 2, 2014
Since I have no tracking experience, I have wondered if I should hunt when it is raining? I have hunted in morning and evening rain.

My advanced bowhunting class did a mock blood trail for us to follow. Last season, an elk hunting veteran showed me in the woods how to look around to find blood, broken branches and tracks after a shot. I am a worried about rain washing away a blood trail.

I want to hunt in the evenings when it is raining. I have some new locations good for evening hunts. I prefer not to miss hunting hours because it is raining.

What is your take on hunting in the rain?

I shot my bull last year in the rain. I was concerned with it washing the blood away so I started tracking after 10min. I only found 10-12 blood drops due to no exit hole. The broadhead deflated both lungs and stopped just inside the skin on the far side. I followed tracks for 40yds easily. I then had to stop and study the ground looking for overturned rocks and such when I spotted him on his back with all four legs in the air 20yds away.

A good shot takes the worries out of tracking in the rain. :D

\"bowhunter\" said:
A good shot takes the worries out of tracking in the rain. :D

Yes! Use the silence the rain provides to get close and seal the deal!

If you can locate elk, and see them before they see you...the rain provides a lot of advantages (keeps your scent down, allows for a much more stealthy stalk).

And, if it really decides to come down hard...you\'ve got your umbrella ;)

I hunt the rain too, but it can wash out a blood trail. Wet ground can make it easier to find tracks and scuff marks where the elk ran, if the rain does not obliterate them. It is easier to slip in closer to elk when it is raining. You make less noise and the rain covers what sound you do make.