Hunting near the road

Mad_Angler

Aug 26, 2015
I\'ve heard folks say that great areas can be found 1/2 to 1 1/2 mile from the road. If they go 1/2 mile, they get away from a lot of the hunters. If they go more that 1 1/2 miles, they run into the beasts and guys with horses.

That makes sense.

So, now what? How do you scout these areas? What are you looking for?

How do you call? It seems that a good bugle would bring hunters running from all directions.

Any other advice?

I am a total elk beginner. This will be my first shot at elk hunting. I\'ve hunted deer for 25 year. I\'ve also done two rifle hunts for moose/caribou in Alaska. I\'m about 50 years old and in okay shape. (My real target season is September 2016. But folks told me that going this year would teach me more than anything else for next year. And I plan to be in better shape for next year). Any other advice would be greatly appeciated.

Welcome to the forum Angler.
Great question, unfortunately there is no one size fits all answer to your questions.
Lets start with your first statement about where to find elk. That elk are 1/2 mile to 1 1/2 mile from open roads may fit some places, but that is no universal standard. Elk adapt to the areas where they live. You will do well to learn your area and how/where to hunt the elk. The same is true of calling. Some people have success with what they call \"run and gun\". I totally disagree, as it does not work where I hunt. More subtle cow calling and short small bull bugles work better in my area.