Meat Processors?

nclonghunter

Dec 28, 2012
What do you pay to get your elk processed?
I had mine cut, plastic wrapped and then paper wrapped for $220.00 this year. I feel like that was a good deal. It was also deboned when delivered to the butcher. This was in Colorado.

I do it myself, I bought a grinder from cabelas 3 years ago. so far it's handled 3 deer and 2 elk. so time and the initial 200 bucks for the grinder, it's actually kinda fun.

Adding up all the steaks, burger, and sausage usually adds up to around a $1 per pound of finished product.

I have been doing all my own for 40+ years now, But from what other people have told me, they charge $300.00 to $350.00 for a Elk, but here in Michigan, most places get at-least $100.00 just for a deer.

Kevin

$150-$200 for an elk depending on weight, I bring in quartered up and have them cut into steaks roasts and burger with beef fat added to the burger.  Price canreally go up if you do much jerky and salami.  Everything is vacuum sealed and the last pack is as fresh as the first.

My son drew  a youth tag this last yr for a cow hunt we took it in whole within a few hours of him killing it. Minus the hide, legs, and head of course. It weighed 284 pounds we had 20 pounds of jerky and 20 pounds of pepperoni made and paid around 330 if i remember right.