my scouting trip ideas

Bob Frapples

Mar 10, 2014
Just wondered what you guys thought about what I think should be my ideal places to look on my uncoming scout trip. This is my first attempt at elk and looking into scouting myself, but from what Ive learned from you guys this is my take on things. Ill be entering area from north east, the area in south east looks to have the least amout of timber on satelite and the circles are where I consider the best places to look first. that larger area to the middle left has the most dense timber but I dont see much that isnt vertical.

[attachment=0]<!-- ia0 -->markup post 2.jpg<!-- ia0 -->[/attachment]

That area to the north east is almost totally encircled looks like it might be one of the coolest places as far as temps are concerned but thats a guess on my part?

Attachments

• markup post 2.jpg
    323.7 KB · Views: 286
I like the elevation.

I have placed 3 big red arrows that show spots that I would definitely check out.
They are saddles, flat spots, and small openings.

You will be good by entering from the NE as the thermals are in your favor.
I drew a line where I would traverse thru the area, hitting the key spots.

One thing to remember when scouting and if you find elk sign...

Ask yourself \'WHY are the elk here?\'

Its like a puzzle putting all the pieces together

Attachments

• markup post 2.jpg
    334.9 KB · Views: 279
Two questions for you:

1) Is there any way to get an idea on the distances on this map? Any legend or anything? The reason I ask is, at the distances I am thinking, those hills are STEEP. If that is the case, you will get a good idea on the number of elk in the area based on game trails. In steep areas, I typically will always find heavily used game trails traversing the hillsides in areas that hold elk. These can lead to bedding areas, feeding areas, water, etc. Something to think about.