New Glass Needed

emiller35

Jul 8, 2017
So I'm pretty new to Elk hunting as I just moved to CO. about 5 months ago, but have been a few times before the move. Question being, I had an old pair of binos that I used for white tails back in IL. that finally bit the dust. So I'm looking at replacing them or exploring the possibility of getting a spotting scope. Would like to hear some opinions and any recommendations on individual optics anyone might have.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It would help tremendously if you gave us a price you were looking to stay at or under for both binos and spotter. Essentially with glass always get the best you can afford.

At face value and assuming youre not looking at Swaro's (cause then you wouldn't be asking) I'd be looking at a zen-ray prime spotter and some vortex razor 10x42 binos. That's going to be north of 2K for glass though. If you can go more than that you have some really great options also.

Agree with pretty much everything backcountry hunter said. I'm also a big fan of Vortex. If your budget is lower, the Diamondbacks are also great glass for the money. If it were me, I would get a good pair of binos over a pair of binos AND a spotting scope unless you are planning on doing a bunch of long range glassing. I rarely ever use a spotter unless it's to verify what I'm looking at through my binos, i.e. how big a bull is or if I'm looking really far out there, is it a bull or cow.

10x42s seem to be the choice binocular of most elk hunters. As for a spotting scope, if you want to lug one around, go for it. But I have never considered one an essential item. If you think you need a spotter, remember you will also need a tripod to hold it steady. Just extra weight. Really not all that heavy but they do take up a lot of space in your pack.

Just to add to my (and COHUNTER's comment) if you can afford both, get them but if I was only picking one I'd get a good set of 10x42's