New string, new loop. Looking for a little help.

COelkaholic88

Jan 4, 2013
I am new to the archery game, and was fortunate to have good friends who give me their unwanted gear. I was given a bow, all set up. I had the bowrestrung a few months ago and have been shooting 3-5 times a week. My loop has started to swivel towards the right side of my string. Before I even hook up with my release, the loop is off center and pointing towrds the right side. When I draw back, my peep rotates and I am having trouble getting a clear view of my target as one of the strings holding my peep is dead center and gives me a double vision of my target. Is it wise to adjust my loop so its straight on with the string predraw? Is there something I could be doing wrong that causes the loop to drift?I'm hoping some veterans here can offer a quick fix.

You can turn your d loop. No matter how much you shoot, mine still turns. If you get your d loop straight worth your peep you should be good. Put some wax on the knots, take a lighter and melt it in but BE CAREFUL not to melt your string. Once it's melted it it shouldn't move. Also if you have new strings and have shot a lot you need to check the timing on your cams. Your cables may need a few twists, and you can twist your string if need be to get your peep lined up. But that's only if you need a tune. Or take it to your pro shop and have them fix your loop. Good luck hope this helps

If your loop is angled down or up it can indicate you are nock high or low. My loop always turns toward me and as I hook on my release I reach up and slightly turn the peep a little to the right. It lines up fine at full draw. The loop turned left or right has never  seemed to cause or indicate a problem, however if you are getting a tail porpoise on your arrows you may be pulling your release at a right angle when at full draw and basically releasing with your release at a right angle rather than straight back.