Newbie Elk Hunter

Wapiti Warrior

Jul 20, 2017
Hey everyone! So I am brand new to elk hunting, or big game at all for that matter. My buddy talked me into going archery deer with him this year in southern idaho (never shot a bow before til March) and I put in for an archery elk in the same unit. Turns out I drew the tag (2% odds) and am now planning my elk hunt. I have been out scouting many days and seen a total of 10 bulls. I saw 5 monsters two days ago, at least 6x6 for each of them. I haven't seen a cow at all. I also haven't really seen elk rubs anywhere. Im starting to wonder if it was a fluke i saw these bulls at all. From other people I have talked to, this unit is hard to draw and amazing (its unit 54 if you were wondering).  Any suggestions on finding the cows or looking for rubs.

FYI: The 5 monster bulls I saw were within a few miles of this remote water source/pond. Didn't know that at the time, but saw it on my map once I got home. I was thinking about getting a vantage point and glassing the pond for a day to see who visits.

Appreciate any input or help for this newbie! Thanks

Wapiti Warrior said:
Hey everyone! So I am brand new to elk hunting, or big game at all for that matter. My buddy talked me into going archery deer with him this year in southern idaho (never shot a bow before til March) and I put in for an archery elk in the same unit. Turns out I drew the tag (2% odds) and am now planning my elk hunt. I have been out scouting many days and seen a total of 10 bulls. I saw 5 monsters two days ago, at least 6x6 for each of them. I haven't seen a cow at all. I also haven't really seen elk rubs anywhere. Im starting to wonder if it was a fluke i saw these bulls at all. From other people I have talked to, this unit is hard to draw and amazing (its unit 54 if you were wondering).  Any suggestions on finding the cows or looking for rubs.