Planning for an Emergency

Bubba

Jan 1, 2013
How many on here plan for an emergency when hunting. When you are planning your hunt out of state do you locate the nearest hospital or have a plan in place if you or someone in your party gets hurt? Do you have a backup plan if you cell phone doesn't work? I'm a Firefighter/ Paramedic and I'll be the first to admit I never really thought about it! What got me thinking about this was someone asked in another topic if anyone has used Qwik Clot..... I would like to see what some of you have to say.

My hunting partner is a Fireman too, And I hunt out west every year,and I am sure he carries a better first aid kit then I do, but we both have one, And when we are in town, we check too see where the Hospital is, or nearest emergence facility is, if we would need it.

Kevin

I carry a small first aid kit for minor cuts and such. I have thought of a "real" emergency at my wifes prompting, That would be a real challenge just getting there. There is a hospital about 20 miles away from where we hunt, but getting there would be a real challenge.

Really good question and not easy to answer. Short of carrying a full scale medical bag and the knowledge to use it, it would be difficult to be ready for all that can happen on a day trip or extended bivy hunt.
It is everyones hope, nothing that requires immediate medical attention ocurrs. Sprained/strained ankles, pulled muscles and minor cuts we can deal with (duct tape). Something major like heart attack, broken limbs, head injuries and serious lacerations would be outside most everyones scope of abilities unless you have had special training.
The first question is; can you take the victim to the hospital or will they have to come to the victim. Either way it's not good. If they would have to stay, then an emergency blanket, bic lighter, water and some food would be good to leave with the victim while you go for help. These items I already carry in my daypack.