Rookie seeking advice

dliberty13

Jul 29, 2014
Hello,
I am new to elk hunting and am in need of advice.  I have hunted whitetail in the Hill Country of central Texas since I was a kid so this will be a whole new adventure for me.  I hope to plan my first elk hunt in the next two years.  My questions are:
Where is the best place to start elk hunting on a limited budget?
Should I start entering the draw system now or get my feet wet first?
I am a diehard archery nut, but should I start with a rifle?
What caliber do you suggest?

Any other nuggets of wisdom will be greatly appreciated.  I am brand new to this forum but I will be on it quite a bit trying to learn as much as possible.  Thanks again.

welcome glad newbies are always welcome there is a plethora of knowledge on here. a quick over view of your questions is really its up to you decide a how you want to hunt gun or bow both are welcome most of us are bow hunters but some of us use a rifle. anything above a 270 will bring down and elk. there are more opportunities  to hunt with a bow over the counter than with a rifle.

That being said the state you choose is your call do some research and choose you poison lol. i personally want to hunt them all and am accruing points in multiple states and hunting OTC when i dont get drawn.

take your next two years and dedicate your self to some kind of fitness routine elk hunting requires a lot of hiking etc also solid gear great boots great pack etc. you can skimp buy cheaply but once you are in the elk country and bulls are screaming  and your blood is boiling and pumping you will be addicted its worse than crack.

so in all at the very least start with great boots and a great or good pack get them early as possible and break them in the mountains are not the place to do it.