Suggestions for a new headlamp?

overthetop

Dec 31, 2012
I have been using a petzl tikka plus for the past 8 years, and I'm looking at getting a new headlamp. I know I want a lamp that uses traditional batteries i.e. (AA or AAA). I'm looking for the best function for the money. Thanks.

Zebra lights, no personal experience but will be my next purchase.

http://www.zebralight.com/Headlamp_c_7.html

might not be a popular choice with some of the guys but I am pleased with the Energizer LED headlamps.  My Petzl is now junk, and the Energizer has kept GOING AND GOING AND...well you get the idea.  Great price, bright, and has 6 modes too. 

Reedjj said:
Zebra lights, no personal experience but will be my next purchase.

http://www.zebralight.com/Headlamp_c_7.html

Agree that Zebra Lights are getting lots of love as being super bright and well made.  Cost is up there and some versions require special batteries that are rechargeable.  When the Lumen power is 600, it makes you pause compared to 200.....

After looking at headlamps for about a year I ended up going with the princeton tec apex.  I looked at zebra, fenix, black diamond, and many others and the apex had the best all around in terms of brightness and battery life

well i got my apex today and I am very impressed. incredibly bright, very user friendly with two selection buttons for the five modes, and it tilts which is huge.  i love this thing

I have been using the Energizer LED headlamp from walmart. it uses AAA batteries, gives off good light, lightweight, small, and last forever. I used mine for almost 2-weeks at elk camp, all of PA archery season, Checking traps every morning for 2-weeks, and it is still good with the same 2 batteries. I think it was $7 or so, the only negative I have is the switch. it will slide on in my pack. I put a piece of duct tape on it to keep it in position. It also has a red LED that I like for getting into stands.