Tips for finding cougar?

Huntnfolk

Jan 4, 2013
I've been hunting and spending time in the outdoors for years, but the one animal I have yet to see is a cougar.
I'm in Western Washington.  Any suggestions on how to find cougars, or better yet how to hunt them since dogs can't be used.  I've tried a little calling, but haven't had any luck.

To just go out and see a cougar without chasing them with dogs can be hard to do. We typically wait for at least a dusting of snow and find the track to get the dogs started. If you cannot use dogs this is still a good method to get a starting point. If you know where the cougars hang out you can set up and class and once in a while catch them soaking up the sun on a cliff. If interested in hunting them with dogs I can set you up. I have some friends who guide and the hunt is about as guaranteed as a hunt can be.

I have no experience hunting them so take what I say with a grain of salt.  But it can sometimes be difficult to find cougars even with dogs if there is no snow on the ground.  If you can find tracks, look for high rock outcrops as these are like a magnet for them.

I think most cougars are out prowling around in bars at late hours usually attacking younger men.. :D  j/k
Actually I have heard of people finding tracks as if you would be chasing them with dogs but then just walk them out tell you think your close like in the same draw and then have someone kinda push the draw. Pretty effective but time consuming..

GameSlayer said:
I think most cougars are out prowling around in bars at late hours usually attacking younger men.. :D  j/k
Actually I have heard of people finding tracks as if you would be chasing them with dogs but then just walk them out tell you think your close like in the same draw and then have someone kinda push the draw. Pretty effective but time consuming..

not to mention dangerous