Tips for pulling turkeys off private?

Ivar88

Aug 8, 2017
This is my first time hunting spring turkey, and the BLM I am on is surrounded by private on the two sides that I hear turkeys. They are LOUD and I can hear them clearly, but they won?t make a move on my calls. Is it possible to call too much, or too loud? I know they have great hearing, so if I can hear them loud and clear, should I call more quietly? Dang birds just won?t bite! Any tips?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ivar88 said:
This is my first time hunting spring turkey, and the BLM I am on is surrounded by private on the two sides that I hear turkeys. They are LOUD and I can hear them clearly, but they won?t make a move on my calls. Is it possible to call too much, or too loud? I know they have great hearing, so if I can hear them loud and clear, should I call more quietly? Dang birds just won?t bite! Any tips?

Ok so lots of questions....
Are the roosting trees on private or public?
Are there fences around the private and they are on the other side?
What time can you hunt until in ND? (Some states you can?t hunt turkeys all day)
Are you using decoys?
What time are they talking to you and when do you stop perusing those birds?

DTP said:
Ivar88 said:

Ok so lots of questions....
Are the roosting trees on private or public?
Are there fences around the private and they are on the other side?
What time can you hunt until in ND? (Some states you can?t hunt turkeys all day)
Are you using decoys?
What time are they talking to you and when do you stop perusing those birds?

So the birds are roosting on private to the south and west. But I mean...I can hear them like they?re next to me.

To the south there is a 3 wire fence.

Proclamation and field guide don?t say anything about half days so I?m hunting all day.

Decoys are another question I have. I have a jake and a hen. I?ve read a lot of folks run both and get the toms all fired up.