Tripods for Binoculars

Bails-UK

Jun 20, 2013
Ok Guys,
            This will be my third Elk Hunt, so I'm not a complete novice, but need guidance  on getting the right gear for multiday, overnight hunting, we normally use a base camp and set off from there every morning, however this time, I want to stay high and where the Elk are. I have all the gear needed for camping, but I need one specific item to complete my kit list...... TRIPOD. I'm hunting Elk in Colorado opening week of Archery season, but rather than taking a spotting scope, I'm just gonna stick with my Bino's. My question is what size Tripod do you guys take out with you, I've been looking at this one, but before buying would like to know your thoughts on Compact Tripods or what Tripods others are using as a reference. The model I'm looking at is the Hama Traveller Mini Pro Tripod, will this be suitable as most of my glassing will be sat down or should I go for the slightly larger Hama Traveller Compact model or a different make, model or size?, we are DIY hunting and overnighting on the Mountains, so weight and space is gonna be paramount in packing my gear.
Your help would be much appreciated  ;)

Dave

Look at monfrotto tripods.. They are awesome and the heads are super smooth for doing a lot of glassing. They make a mini that's in aluminum it's lite and would be great for back country stuff. The only thing that I'm concerned with, and this is with any aluminum tripod is bending the legs. I have the bigger carbon tripod. It's a bit pricier, but it's lasted me 5 yrs of hard abuse.
Something also to think about is a tripod that has independent legs so you can sit under it, and glass comfortably. Hope this helps. Best of luck

They look really nice and great reviews, but a little more than I was expecting to pay.... I'm on a budget(should have said before, sorry).

Swaro composite full size or you will have wind/wobble issues at higher magnifications.......