Using a fat-tire Ebike for hunting

Counselor

Jul 7, 2018
I have been doing some research on fat-tire eBikes for hunting (plus fun) and thought I?d check to see if anyone out there has had experience with them. I am eyeing the Backcountry Ebikes Mule 1000 and the QuietKat Apex. They are not cheap but under some circumstances I think they could be helpful for scouting, archery elk hunting and turkey hunting.

Please let me know your thoughts!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have no personal experiences with them, but I sure would like to know as well.  I?ve been eyeing the same bike for a while now. 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Check out bowsite.com and click on Features at the top.  Pat did a great review on one of the QuietKat models and he's pretty good about getting back to you if have questions.

I just tried one out.  My wife doing some advertising for a friend just opening a store.  I have mountain biked quite a bit during hunts, and on the right trail they can be a huge benefit mostly in covering ground quickly and into places you aren't willing to get to on foot.  Adding a motor that is still quiet and doesn't smell like gas will do nothing but help.  Again it will only be helpful on certain trails or logging road etc...but the only negative will be the cost!

I've been looking into these also.  I see so many advantages to having one.  Only problem is you need to make sure and check game laws for the state your hunting.  Since it is motorized, even though its electric, in most states you can only take it on normal roads or trails that allow for motorized vehicles.

cmuske25 said:
I've been looking into these also.  I see so many advantages to having one.  Only problem is you need to make sure and check game laws for the state your hunting.  Since it is motorized, even though its electric, in most states you can only take it on normal roads or trails that allow for motorized vehicles.