call smart elk

hooter44

May 20, 2013
i am new to elk hunting  today i was researching the area i want to hunt talking to the game warden of the unit i want to hunt. probably asking way to many ? but thats how i learn. During conversation he told me that calling elk was a thing of the past on public land that the elk here have been called to there entire life and very seldom responding to them and even less come in. I not sure what to think so i thought i would ask some of you season elk hunters what are your thoughts on calling on public land and what kind of success are yall having getting elk to respond come in

I hunt a well hunted area and I still get awnsers to my calls almost every day im out ,but most do not come into you. I use the call to locate and then go to them.once you get close you have a way better chance to chalange one so he will come in. Once they have thier cows with them it gets realy hard almost imposible to get bigger bulls in.In this case its good to have a second area as a back up.

You must've been asking about his honey hole.  I've hunted some pretty busy units and haven't had that issue.  Similar to what Turbo said they all won't be charging in but you'll be able to find enough if they are around.

im hoping so big tex im going up first part of july to scout hopefully they will be in the same general area come sept. a friend thatused to live in and hunt Co.a bunch said it was a great spot to hunt with lots of elk low pressure we will see