New to bow hunting, help!

220yotekiller

Jul 11, 2018
Hey guys, I am an experenced rifle elk hunter (for cows at least), but l'm a complete newbie with a bow and l'm going to try my hand at it this year. l have a cow elk tag and i have 2 springs where l can set up a blind. l know that elk are using both springs, so finding them isn't a problem at least. l have a Quest G5 bow with a 70 lb draw, l am confident out to 45 yards but l do practice out to 65. My uncle recommended that l go with cut on contact broad heads and l was wondering what brands are good. 

Welcome to the site 220yotekiller!  :upthumb:

You asked about cut on contact heads so I will answer to that.  I really like the NAP spitfires.
I've killed a few deer with them and they are mean.

I personally don't use them on elk, but you didn't ask about fixed, so I'll keep it on your topic!

Good luck to you this year. It sounds like you've got them patterned already and I can't wait to see how you do. :upthumb:

Ok so new questian, What is the difference between cut on contact and fixed blades, what kind do you use on elk?

220yotekiller said:
Ok so new questian, What is the difference between cut on contact and fixed blades, what kind do you use on elk?

You'll find there is a lot of conversation out there about "what type of broadhead to use on elk... fixed of mechanical".

I personally use fixed heads for elk and for most of my deer hunts. Every now and then I'll use the NAP spitfire on deer.

I like fixed broadheads because I don't have to worry about additional failures that may occur during my stalk & kill.